Shreyas Iyer to lead Delhi Daredevils in crucial IPL encounter against Kolkata Knight Riders

  • 2018-04-27 12:05:19

Shreyas Iyer to lead Delhi Daredevils in crucial IPL encounter against Kolkata Knight Riders

Delhi plays Kolkata Knight Riders at the Feroz Shah Kotla, in a crucial encounter tonight, with a desperate Delhi side looking down the barrel.

The entire Delhi side is under pressure with the much experienced leader in Gautam Gambhir stepping down from captaincy and passing the baton on to the young Shreyas Iyer, who, as a promising future star for Indian cricket has much to prove to the selectors as well.

After a decent innings of 55 to flag off his 2018 IPL campaign, a string of poor performances in the following encounters have pushed Gambhir to the wall where he felt the need to step down, making it easier for the Franchise and Head coach Ricky Ponting to take independent decisions regarding the team’s combination.

The presence of fresh young Under 19 stars like Prithvi Shaw in the side lines until the last match had made it even more difficult for the veteran former Indian opener.

With a minimum of seven wins required to make it to the playoffs, Delhi Daredevils now faces an uphill task of needing to win at least six of the remaining eight encounters to make an appearance in the Qualifiers.

KKR, on the other hand has found a thinking leader in Dinesh Karthik and is slowly beginning to make all round progress. Despite their humiliating defeat against the destructive Kings XI Punjab side, there are a lot of positives that the visitors can pick up from their venture so far and make it count in this crucial encounter. Also the team shall be relatively fresh from a break and will be edging to make a mark and climb up the points table to find a more comfortable place for themselves.

Having captained both the sides scheduled for tonight’s clash, it may feel really awkward to be in Gambhir’s shoes right now. But this classy 36 year old left hander from Delhi is much of a fighter to go down so easily.

Keeping the slow nature of the Kotla pitch, KKR will be playing all the three spinners, while Delhi needs to fix their overseas combination as well with Colin Munro set to make the playing eleven.

With much at stake, and a lot to prove, the cricket world is surely in for a treat tonight.

Delhi Daredevils:
Shreyas Iyer (C), Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh and Liam Plunkett.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (C), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Tom Curran and Prasidh Krishna.

Story compiled by: Arijit Mandal